a lamp for my feet

… a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path … (Psalm 119:5, KJB)

I currently have a super commute, from central Scotland to southern England. Which means ridiculously early starts from home. A bit less painful now because this time of the year the sun in Scotland is racing to meet the equinox, and it’s already light when I leave home. And early morning light over the Forth almost makes it worth being awake.

I find this verse especially soothing, it popped into my head earlier in the day, leaving the lab just after sunset. And reminded me of lamps and candles lighted as the light fades.

Walking through alleyways in the old town in Stockholm early 2015, before my flight back after a meeting further south, I stumbled across a fair few lamps in doorways and tealights on tables outside cafés; the added illusion of warmth was doubly welcoming on the snowy day.

lamps in a doorway, Stockholm lighted candles in an alley, Stockholm
Leave a Reply

